Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Now that I have graduated, I’ve come across the question (from multiple people)……

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

First, let’s see how old I will be in 10 years. I am 24 now, so in 10 years I will be 34. Woah! I am a big believer in the growth mindset. Yes, I have graduated from school and I have a full-time job, but I am never done learning. Everyday I continue to learn something I didn’t know before. Even if it occurs during the conversations I have with my students or something in my personal life, I am always learning. Because of this, it is important to set goals of things I hope to accomplish. It forces me to get out of my comfort zone and try new things and reach those dare to dream goal and live life to the fullest. Now, life can change dramatically than what you think it is going to be, but it is fun to have a few goals.

I am going to break this down into two categories: personal and professional.

Personal

  • Married – I hope to be married to my best friend and partner in crime. I hope to be going on regular date nights and living life to the fullest with this man.
  • Kids – I hope to be a mommy to little ones; how many is a good question, but I am open to whatever the LORD sees fit.
  • Tennis – I hope to be on a local team playing the sport that I love. Even if it is just once a week, having these connections is critical. I also hope to be a certified umpire, so I can umpire at kids tournaments on the weekends.
  • Running – I hope to have had 10 ten more races (1 race a year) ranging from 5K to half marathons (we will see if I am every healthy enough to do a half).
  • Try one new hobby – thinking about something crafty for those rainy days, but I am not sure yet. If you have any ideas, let me know!
  • Pets – I hope to still have Taylor and have a successor dog. Taylor will be retired from work by then, but to have a successor dog and to be a team and to continue to make memories together.

Professional

  • Signing – I hope to be fluent in sign language by taking classes at a local community college and practicing with various people. This will give me another tool to help deaf kids develop language.
  • AG Bell – I hope to have gone to at least 2 conventions in the next 10 years. I also hope to present at some point about a topic I am passionate about (that is in the works).
  • Experience – I hope to continue to gain experience each year by teaching and to continually learn about new devices and methods for teaching deaf kids how to talk.
  • HLAA – I hope to get involved in a chapter and continue to make a difference in this community and do my part in raising awareness for hearing loss.
  • Promoting Awareness – I have a project in the works (not quite ready to share it), but to continue to promote awareness about hearing loss in whatever avenue I see fit. To bring awareness to something that seems scary at times.

On paper, these seem big scary goals, but broken down, they are achievable. Right now, I am only working on a few, and some will obviously come when it is meant to be (you know what I am talking about), but it gives me something to work towards.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

You never know what life will throw at you!

Happy Wednesday!

Krista

Leave a Reply

