Behind the Scenes…..

Many of you know that I starred in a film back in the late 1990’s to promote Listening and Spoken Language as an option for children with hearing loss. The film was produced by AG Bell and premiered at the conference in 1999. At the time, I was 5 years old. The company then did a follow-up film five years later to see where the children were from that first film. I was in that one as well.

I thought it would be fun to give you all a little behind the scenes look of the making of the two films and the premiere of them. I don’t remember a lot about that time, but it is still fun to look back at pictures….

For the first film, the crew came to CCHAT and filmed me and E in our classrooms and in speech sessions. Our parents were interviewed at the school as well. It gave a snapshot of what we were doing currently and showcased one of the schools that is teaching children who are deaf to listen and talk.

This first set is from the photoshoot that was done for the 1st movie (DREAMS SPOKEN HERE) that was done in 1998. The photoshoot was done in San Francisco, so we took a fancy limo to the city. Another student from CCHAT, E and her mom can as well. And of course the principal of CCHAT at the time had to tag along! E ended up on the cover of a film in the same series when this first film came out.

IMG_4742
Limo Picture: Mom, me, E, A, L and the Limo Driver 

 

IMG_2137
Waiting at the studio for pictures to be taken. Yes, that’s Kathy Sussman on the far right……

 

IMG_3310
Practice shot for the cover….

 

IMG_7320
Fun talk…

 

IMG_5619
This is the final image from that shoot, which ended up being the cover.

 

Then, about a year later, the film premiered at the AG Bell conference in Little Rock, AR. Of course, my family and I went. This was also the conference that my mom presented about Language Experience Stories. It really comes full circle, because this is what my Independent Study project has been on all year.

The next set of photos are from the premiere.

 

IMG_5498
Kathy and I in front of the big movie cover photo….
IMG_6000
Yes, signing and handing out copies. 

 

You can find the first film Here

Five years later, we got a call saying that I had been picked for the follow-up film. For this film, the crew spent an entire day following me around to capture what my life was like five years later. They filmed my class for a day and then came to my house after to interview my parents and take some more film of my hobbies. At this time, I was 10 years old and in 4th grade. If you watch the film, you will recognize some of these scenes.  Here are some behind the scenes photos from this!

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 4.38.08 PM
Sound guy and I looking at my spelling homework. 
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 4.38.38 PM
Interviewing my mom, while I do homework! Notice the dog is there in the bottom of the picture!
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 4.39.02 PM
Piano Scene 
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 4.39.12 PM
Scene where I am talking on the window seat!
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 4.39.52 PM
That final scene of me at the end of this movie was taken on a golf cart! My dad literally drove this thing down the street while my sister and I rode our bikes to get that shot. 
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 4.40.06 PM
See!
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 4.40.22 PM
Sound guy, Lisie and I!
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 4.40.32 PM
This is the producer and her assistant who directed the scenes this day. 

You can find the second film Here

I don’t have any pictures from the premiere of this film. However, it premiered in Aniheim, CA in 2004 at the AG Bell convention. I do remember that we went and combined it with a trip to Disneyland!

So there is a little behind the scenes shots! The interesting thing is that I have Language Experience Stories from the first film. My mom made books about our trips that we have read over and over when we got home. It’s funny how things come full circle.

Happy Saturday!

Krista

 

 

Leave a Reply

